“Caligrafia” & More Asemic Visual Poetry by Laura Ortiz (Toronto, Ontario, Canada)

“Ancient Knowledge” by Laura Ortiz (Toronto, Canada)

 

Laura Ortiz is producing spectacular visual-textual compositions. She is already highly regarded in the asemic writing community. You can find her work at venues including Michael Jacobson’s New Post-literate and the venerable asemic.net. I am thrilled to share this selection of her work at Asemic Front and look forward to the possibility of posting more of her work in the future.

“Online Caligrafia” by Laura Ortiz

I associate Laura Ortiz with a group – such as Anneke Baeten, Lucinda Sherlock and Kerri Pullo – whom I believe are essentially defining and leading the thriving asemic movement at this time. This contention, however, is limiting. While Laura Ortiz shares commonalities with other artists that seems gender-based and grounded in shared influences, it is her individuality that – I think – makes her work so compelling.

“Untitled” by Laura Ortiz

I wanted to learn more about Laura Ortiz and her work. So I asked her to respond to some questions for Asemic Front. Laura wrote:

“I developed my love for letters from a very young age and always wanted to work in the art field. My father was in advertising. He designed and painted the big billboards that were so central to advertising but which are less common today.

“While I lived in Argentina I studied and worked as a psychologist. When i came to Canada 10 years ago, I decided to follow my heart and in 2007  embarked on a degree in graphic design.

“In 2016 i discovered asemic writing on the web. I became  immediately fascinated by the combination of letters, glyphs, abstract art and design. So I said to myself, ‘Why not!?’ I started exploring, practicing and learning from my fellow artists and I have never stopped since.”

“Slide Show” by Laura Ortiz

I admire Laura Ortiz’s harmonious union of text and image (with an especially brilliant use of color). So I am not surprised to find her lifelong connection to graphic design and advertising going back to her father. (Many asemic writers have studied psychology too.) Her work, however, is also deeply rooted in the practice of calligraphy. These pieces reveal some FAB calligraphy.

While calligraphy is one of her foundations, Laura Ortiz draws on virtually all the conventional sources of asemics such as collage, abstract art and digital aesthetics. (She does not seem particularly partial to found material.) Laura Ortiz brings them together seamlessly and with seemingly infinite variation.

Like much of the asemic writing with which I am most familiar – the type that has emerged in recent years from the mail art network – Laura Ortiz combines both asemics and visual poetry to make her unique compositions. (Laura is not a member of the Eternal Network. She just shares some points in common.) Some asemic purists – I used to call them the “Asemically Correct” – disparage a wedding of asemic writing and visual poetry, although it would seem this position is fading. Laura Ortiz represents a new line of asemic thought.

DVS

“Secrets”

“Water”

“Yellow” by Laura Ortiz

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

