The Numerical Asemic Frontier by Jay Block (Bridgewater, Massachusetts, USA)

By Jay Block (Bridgewater, Massachusetts, USA)

 

I can never decide if Jay Block is a pure materialist or a conceptualist. (I have the same problem with Fluxus generally.) I do know Jay Block is very thoughtful so I try to identify an orientation. This piece suggests to me the largely unexplored land of numbers and asemics. I am not exactly sure what that land is or could be, but Jay exposes a shaft of light from it. (I bet the late Bob Grumman would revel in the possibilities.)

Some asemic writers are using numbers (and decomposed numbers) in their works None that I know of have used mathematical sequences (including random number sequences) to build asemic structures. Great work remains ahead.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

